Jessica Murrell Named SunTrust 2012 Distinguished Leader of Merit

April 11, 2012 - Early Advantage MBA student Jessica Merrell has been awarded this year's SunTrust Distinguished Leader of Merit award. Merrell was presented with the award by David Fuller, president and CEO of Sun Trust Central Florida, during a ceremony at the school and will be recognized again for her achievement during the Rollins MBA commencement ceremony on April 28, 2012. In addition to Merrell, Rollins MBA students Meredith Lohwasser and Rohini Das were named SunTrust Leaders of Merit, Joshua Aguilar and Shannon Walsh were also recognized for exemplary community engagement at the ceremony.

The SunTrust Distinguished Leader of Merit award is the top honor given to the student in the Rollins’ MBA Center for Leadership Development who best exemplifies the qualities of ethical, responsible and thoughtful leadership, and who have applied these characteristics and practices at the school and throughout the community. Supported by the generosity of SunTrust Bank, this recognition is considered to be among the most prestigious awards given by the Rollins MBA.

“The SunTrust Distinguished Leader of Merit award honors students who demonstrate the leadership skills and commitment while MBA students, skills they take with them into the workforce,” said Susan A. Bach, director of the Rollins MBA Center for Leadership Development. “Upon receiving the award and taking the next steps in their career, we’ve seen that these students advance quickly among their peers.”

The criteria for these awards consist of behavioral assessments, participation in leadership programs and coaching, course completion in leadership and communication, and community service. Students who meet these requirements compile a Leadership Portfolio which includes a detailed ongoing development plan, written reflections of demonstrated leadership, references, a resume and future leadership objectives based on what has been learned earning the Rollins MBA. The entrants are judged by a selection panel of local Orlando business leaders.

This year’s selection panel was: Marna Killian, vice president, Margaritaville; Richard Watkins, senior vice president, public wealth management, Sun Trust Bank; Marva Johnson, corporate vice president, technology policy and industry affairs, Bright House Networks; Richard Chapa, HR business partner, Disney and Megan Lanier, program coordinator, Winter Park Chamber of Commerce.


AireHealth Wins $25,000 Prize at the 2019 Crummer Rollins Venture Plan Competition

Read More

Marketing Experts Discuss Intersection of Brand and Experience in the Digital Age

Read More

Crummer Alumna Leverages Social Entrepreneurship Class to Secure Major Grant for Bach Festival Society

Read More